An independently-reviewed competitive grants program supported by Pfizer

Review process 2017

Applications will be formally assessed by, and only by, the GRAND Review Committee, an independent committee comprising internationally prominent researchers in the field. Following an initial round of review of each application by at least two members of the GRAND Review Committee, the full GRAND Review Committee will convene in September 2017 to formally discuss the applications and determine the recipients of the GRAND Awards for 2017. The final responsibility for selection of Awardees rests with the co-Chairs of the Review Committee. The entire review process is completely independent of Pfizer, including the final selection of Awardees.

In their evaluation, the GRAND Review Committee members will consider applications in their totality, and focus specifically on the following factors:

  • Relevance of the proposed research to the scope of the GRAND 2017 Program
  • Specifically, does the research proposal aim to provide information that could directly advance the use of pharmacotherapy for treating users of any nicotine or tobacco product in clinical practice?
  • Overall scientific merit of the research proposal, in particular the potential significance and innovation of the proposal
  • Appropriateness of the proposed sample size
  • Realism of the submitted budget
  • Academic qualifications and previous research experience of the applicant
  • Evidence of a suitable research environment.

The GRAND Review Committee for 2017 will consist of internationally renowned researchers in the field of smoking cessation and will be led by the following co-Chairs (click on names to see biographical information):


Karl Fagerström, PhD, co-Chair
Fagerström Consulting AB
Stockholm, Sweden

John Hughes, MD, co-Chair
University of Vermont
Burlington, Vermont, USA


In addition to the co-Chairs, there will be a GRAND Review Committee of several internationally-renowned smoking cessation experts. Review Committee members already announced are shown below (click on names to see biographical information). Additional Review Committee members will be announced shortly.

Jonathan Foulds, PhD
Penn State University
Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

Peter Hajek, PhD
Barts and the London
Queen Mary's School of Medicine and Dentistry
London, UK

Judith Prochaska, PhD, MPH
Stanford University
Stanford, California, USA

Philip Tønnesen, MD Dr Med Sci
Department of Sleep Medicine
Glostrup University Hospital
Copenhagen, Denmark

Serena Tonstad, MD, PhD, MPH
Oslo University Hospital
Oslo, Norway

Robert West, PhD
University College London
London, UK